Future Aspirations (collected post-its)

by evergreenovella

We may not be able to say that great change comes at the hands of a sole individual. Perhaps cultural change is more akin to the waring away of cliffs by the waves. Countless individuals have shifted the social disposition through their simple but heroic actions and history merely remembers the last strong wave that comes and breaks open the cave.

Ever since I was little the question hasn’t be what do I want to be when I grow up, but what do I want to do. I want to change the world. Some may laugh.

It’s not about telling my story, it’s about finding the story that has been trying to be told throughout history and translating it into the vernacular of today. That is the task of the philosopher poet. To explore how we unknowingly speak to the longings of our hearts, personally and culturally through the stories we tell. The repeated themes and characters form a mosaic of greater ethos. I want to analyze this. We have become a part of each other’s stories in ways that we didn’t expect and sometimes can’t explain.

