The First Step out the Door

by evergreenovella

Monday marked the beginning of the summer intensive Hebrew–my first course on the grad school docket. We had an introductory breakfast on Monday morning before class began. There are only 4 women in the class (including me, the TA, and the Professor), but overall there is a good mix of new and returning students. There are quite a guys who are on the four year ministry track who took summer intensive Greek last year, as well as some Asian students for whom English is a second language. I’ve been trying to get a feel of their opinion on Greek vs. Hebrew (in terms of difficulty) and Hebrew vs. their native language (in terms of structural similarities).

The first day we learned all the consonants and vowels to be memorized for the following day’s quiz. Panic sets in quick. All the should’ve-dones close in setting doubt in your already fried mind. “Am I up for this?” “What if I can’t retain all this information like I used too?” “What if all my drive got burnt out along the way?” But I did it (sort-of). The TA told me that she went back to school with a 20 year gap between her undergrad studies. More and more people are taking advantage of that time in their life to go back to school and I applaud them. There are two men in their late 40s/early 50s in class as well.

I guess what I’m trying to say is that everyone starts from where they are with what they have to bring to the table, at whatever stage that may be. I don’t know how it happened, but somewhere along the way we let a majority establish the “proper stages” for how to go about living and following your calling. We hear about an exception the rule here and there and stand back in admiration of their chutzpah. “What do they got that we ain’t got? Courage.” And they don’t even have that much. Just like Matt Damon’s character in that classic We Bought a Zoo says, “You know, sometimes all you need is twenty seconds of insane courage. Just literally twenty seconds of just embarrassing bravery. And I promise you, something great will come of it.” You know Matt, I think you might be right about that.

