In the Shadows

by evergreenovella

As the semester kicks in, I feel the pressure to pack full every moment with the completion of assignments and the comprehension of concepts. So, in the midst of it all I tend to loose track of the cleansing that a good thought dump does for my mind. Why is it so hard to do the things that are good for us?

I’ve finally put (proverbial) pen to paper on this Thursday afternoon. Shadow, tree, sunlight and wind dance outside as my familiar friend, that joyful melancholy, rushes into the hallways of my mind. Now you see through a glass dimly. Sometimes we are blessed enough to see glimpses of our purpose in the midst of the situation we are inhabiting. Even so, knowledge of that purpose in full will always remain out of reach. Resting in the peace that passes all understandingĀ is so difficult (understatement of the century).

Resting in the unknown. It seems to be an oxymoron. Darkness is frightening because it is the chamber of the unknown. Just last night, my thoughts could not rest for fear of what unseen powers battled at my footboard. The known that we must rest in is what has been revealed about God and His character in the Scriptures. The discipline to study and to know that to the brim of my finiteness is my life’s task.

What is the chief end of man?
Man’s chief end is to glorify God, and to enjoy him forever.

