Love, dreaming, and a story.

by evergreenovella

I won’t make a resolution to write more in 2016. I know this year will ebb and flow as in years past. Although, I do hope I am able to turn to this medium of expression more often than I have previously. I’ve just been thinking about what it means to “find your voice.” Is it simply your style (writing, artistic, spoken word etc.)? Is that substantive enough?

I think I’ve struggled creatively as a writer because I’ve failed to see that one’s voice is more than a sound–it is sound linked with substance. How can I speak out that which has not even taken form within myself? within my mind, soul, and heart?

“If you’ve got no love in your heart, you’ve got nothing…No dreaming, no story, nothing.” – Magarri, Australia

At seminary, I’m deepening my understanding of the most powerful story of sacrificial love ever lived out on the world stage. I’ve only scratched the surface. But without it there truly is not/would not be any dreaming..no story…nothing. Not for me. Not for anyone. So, for 2016 my prayer is the same as Paul’s for the church at Ephesus.

“That Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith—that you, being rooted and grounded in love, may have strength to comprehend with all the saints what is the breadth and length and height and depth, and to know the love of Christ that surpasses knowledge, that you may be filled with all the fullness of God.” (Ephesians 3:17-19)

